Hopeless Romantic.

When the whole blog phenomenon broke, I have to admit I was slightly annoyed. I spent four years busting my ass in college to get a journalism degree and now anyone with a laptop and an opinion could jump online and be a published writer. I loathed the idea of blogging the same way I loathed the idea of the on-line magazine, deeming them both inauthentic.  But that was back when I took life way too seriously and thought that degrees were actually worth the paper they’re printed on.

I’m not exactly sure when it happened, but I believe it was during the MySpace heyday. I had finally joined MySpace after hearing way too much about it and once the excitement of spying on old classmates wore off, I started writing blogs here and there, only to discover that people actually enjoyed reading my ramblings. Who knew?  I love to write and I was thrilled that people actually got enjoyment out of reading my thoughts about absolutely nothing, but I still wasn’t interested in starting a blog of my own.

Two degrees and too many unexpected life experiences later and here I am. I can’t promise that I’ll always (or ever)  have something overwhelmingly profound to share. I have my days. This is simply for those who value my thoughts and ideas and care about what I find interesting and fabulous.

Why are you so interested in fashion?  I’m not interested in fashion, I’m interested in style. ~ Todd Selby

Urban Romance is all about style and my life-long love affair with fashion, the arts, metropolitan living, and whatever else I deem stylish—a place to showcase my work as a stylist and image consultant and a forum for people to ask questions and exchange ideas. Every now and then, I may throw in an original essay or an interview to appease my inner journalist, but overall there are No Rules. Love that!

The official launch of Urban Romance isn’t until late spring (the reason my page is so blah-blah-snore right now). I wanted to test WordPress (and generate a little buzz) with this first post. I can’t wait to get started and look forward to your feedback and comments.

Maybe now’s a good time to thank some people :
Mom, Dad, Granny and the rest of my crazy family, thank you for your unbridled support and constant encouragement. I am truly, truly blessed to have you all be a part of my life and could not have made it this far through life without you.

Special Thanks to:
Chris, Erick, Mayra, Jordan,  Sharna, Alexis, Aja, Kelli, Khadijah, Heather,  iQue, Tina, Linda, Brant, Ms. Enna, Ms. Maher, Cheryl Ann, my glam squad and anyone else who has held me down, taught me something new, or been a breath of fresh air. I am grateful beyond measure. To those I may have forgotten, please know you have a place in my heart even though my brain fails me at the moment.

Now that my Oscar moment is over, back to work I go. See you all soon! 😉

XOXO
Tristan

5 Responses to “Hopeless Romantic.”

  1. Alexis Mitchell Says:

    *wiping tear* Congrats, darling. Beautifully done.

  2. Looking forward to reading the blog! I’m sure you will keep us entertained and more importantly fashion forward with your great sense of style. with love, o&x

  3. I like it. There are some publishing suggestions I will e-mail you about. So far so good!

  4. Deric Dandridge Says:

    Your a chip off your uncles block. Remember if you don’t have big dreams and goals you will work realy hard for some won that do!!

  5. Looking forward to it lady!

Leave a Reply

